PGSG 2018 Business Meeting Agenda

Galerie 3, Second Floor, Marriott New Orleans, MA

1. Minutes & Announcements

Minutes of 2017 were approved.

$\underline{http://www.politicalgeography.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/2017-04-07_PGSG-bus-mtg-minutes_POSTED.pdf}$

Preconference report:

- 71 people registered
- \$865 income
- expenses: \$300 rooms; \$681 food; \$179 restaurant appetizers.
- 40 papers & 1 poster scheduled

Reminder on deadlines (in place for this year):

all non-student awards moved to Jan. 15

student awards:

- → travel Dec. 31
- → all others to Jan. 31, including undergraduate award (previously in June)

2. Thanks to our outgoing board and committee members.

Thanks to outgoing board members:

Lindsay Naylor (University of Delaware)

Orhon Myadar (University of Arizona)

Ali Nehme Hamdan (UCLA) – Student Rep.

Thanks to our uutgoing committee members:

Emma Norman (Northwest Indian College) Sam Nelson USC grad student. Do the bylaws allow it?

- Stephanie Wilbrand will become new chair

3. Budget update

post-conference balance = \$1,461.16

balance 1 year ago post-AAG = \$2,673.76

balance 2 years ago post-AAG = \$1,993.91

balance 3 years ago post-AAG = \$1,462.91

4. Award winners

Thanks again for all the work done by board members (faculty awards) and the various committees in identifying this year's winners.

STUDENTS

2018 BA Student Paper Award

Elias Platte Bermeo (UCLA): Berlin Beyond the Wall [nominated by Sara Salazar Hughes]

Honorable Mention: Amelia Arden Green (Mount Holyoke College): The Colonial Influence and Political

Turmoil that Impacted Jakarta's Environment and Urban Development [nominated by Serin Houston]

2018 PhD Student Paper Award

Shona Loong (Oxford University): Neoliberalism meets the borderscape: along the Thai-Myanmar border Honorable Mention: Ashley Fent (UCLA): Governing Alongside: Lateral State Spatiality

and Unmet Expectations in Senegalese Mining Negotiations

2018 Alexander B. Murphy Dissertation Enhancement Award

Sophia Borgias (University of Arizona): Rights and resistance in a 'resource colony:'

The struggle for water and sovereignty in Owens Valley, California

non-winners notified?

NON-STUDENTS

(1) Julian Minghi Distinguished Book Award:

Brian King (The Pennsylvania State University) for *States of Disease: Political Environments and Human Health* (2017, University of California Press) https://www.ucpress.edu/book.php?isbn=9780520278219

(2) Virginie Mamadouh Outstanding Research Award:

Patrick Bigger (Lancaster University) and Benjamin D. Neimark (Lancaster University) for "Weaponizing Nature: The Geopolitical Ecology of the US Navy's Biofuel Program" (*Political Geography* 2017) http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.polgeo.2017.03.007

3) Stanley D. Brunn Young Scholar Award:

Kate Coddington, Durham University

(4) Richard Morrill Public Outreach Award:

Scott Warren, Arizona State University and Tohono O'odham Community College

5. Election results

Faculty Representatives

Mia Bennet Merideth Deboome

Student

Borjana Lubura

6. General discussion

Preconference

- future locations & dates:

Washington DC – April 2, 2018 (Tuesday)

Denver 2019 -2020

also: Seattle (2021), New York (2022), Detroit (2023), Honolulu (2024)

Discussion of items from Specialty Group Chairs' Meeting

We will Ask Oscar to not schedule PGSG sessions on last day of conference next year to make it easier for members to to accommodate preconference. Individuals can also ask that he schedule sessions for early in the week.

Awards

plan to emphasize nominations to AAG Book Awards next year

will solicit nominations from journals for Mamadouh award (limit of 1 per journal)

i.e. Political Geography, Geopolitics, Society and Space section editor of Annals, EPC

We will standardized policy on self-nominations

Communications: we will continue to utilize both the PGSG listserve and the Knowledge Communities. Only about 200 people overlap on both lists. 800 on PGSG list 690 on knowledge community.

7. Discussion of items from the floor.

Discussion of opening up student paper awards

Some members raised concerns about the existing policy that each institution was only allowed to nominate one student for the undergraduate paper award. Following discussion, it was decided that moving forward each faculty member will be able to support up to three applications, which they will rank. The committee will only consider the top ranked applicant, unless there is a shortage of nominations.

7. Adjourned at 12:35

= = = = = = = = = BELOW is internal notes, not for agenda = = = = = = = =

TO DO:

Kenneth

- blurbs when announcing winners & certificates (!?)
- winners to website afterwards
- also board member & committee listings on website

-

9/19/17 e-mail to listserv

With the start of a new school year and the AAG planning season well upon us, here are a few ways for members of the Political Geography Specialty Group to keep up to date:

- 1) The PGSG website http://www.politicalgeography.org/ is where officers post announcements, including AAG CFPs and other updates. You can check the website regularly or you may subscribe to the Announcements as an RSS feed. Board and committee memberships, business meeting minutes, award information, etc. can also be found under the appropriate tabs.
- 2) The PGSG listserv. To send a message to everyone on the listserv, subscribers can send an e-mail to PGSG-L@lsv.uky.edu. For more information or to subscribe visit http://www.lsoft.com/scripts/wl.exe?SL1=PGSG-L&H=LSV.UKY.EDU. The PGSG-L administrator is Reece Jones (reecej@hawaii.edu). A public archive of PGSG-L (sans e-mails to protect from scammers) is available at http://lsv.uky.edu/scripts/wa.exe?A0=pgsg-l. Anyone interested can subscribe to this listserv and as such it is the primary mode of communication for the PGSG, although messages are generally cross-posted to the KC as well. Based on a recent review of subscribers, we found that c ross-posting means some 150 people will get duplicate messages but posting to only one
- ross-posting means some 150 people will get duplicate messages but posting to only one will miss sending to over 500 unique subscribers on the other list.
- 3) The AAG Knowledge Communities ("KC") portal. This venue is restricted to currently paid PGSG members and is administered by the AAG. If you are a PGSG member you get added automatically. Note that attachments to messages posted can only be retrieved from the Knowledge Communities website http://community.aag.org/ they are not attached to e-mails. To post messages or access archives for the KC you must log into the site.
- 4) Some PGSG members are also subscribe to GEOPOL. For more information on that listserv visit http://www.lsoft.com/scripts/wl.exe?SL1=GEOPOL&H=LSV.UKY.EDU. The GEOPOL administrator is Lauren Martin (Lauren.martin@durham.ac.uk).

for awards luncheon I have

- Kenneth
- Patrick Bigger
- Scott Warren
- Amelia Green

2018 MA Student Paper Award

xxxx (University of xxxx): n/a this year